(Don’t Fear) the Reaper

Season 14, Episode 11

“On your death bed, no one wishes they’d worked more. That’s the trite little phrase people tried out when they want to play hookie, or spend too much money when they go on vacation, or shame parents when they miss their kid’s soccer game for a board meeting. On your death bed, no one wishes they’d worked more. Tell that to the people who love their work. ”

“It’s not about whether you spend your life in a boardroom, your bedroom, or on a beach with a mai tai in Maui. When you look back on your life, the only thing that matters is, did you spend it doing what you love with the people you love? Were you happy? Did you make the most of this beautiful, terrifying, messed up life? Did you let go of all the things that held you back, so you can hold on to what matters most?”

Did you?

The last episode was a  bit different with lots of  flashbacks. That is not my  favorite kind of episode, however it was indeed a very  powerful episode once more. Many thoughts came to my mind as I watched it.

The first thought of mine, regards the first half of the quote, and it was about the workaholic people. So I thought “What is really a workaholic?”; according to the dictionary workaholic is: a person who works a lot of the time and finds it difficult not to work. So if somebody loves his job and  works too many hours, is not a workaholic? What if he confuses the feeling “I love my job” with a feeling “I feel uneasy when I am not working”? The feeling that you get when you can’t satisfy  a compulsion can be really frustrating, so you can will succumb to it, in order to feel good.

The second thought that came to my mind, was whether I  currently do what I love in my life…and oh boy that is a difficult question. I tend to be very strict to myself; I am a perfectionist (the reason that my posts are not very tidy all the time, is because I  am trying to beat that perfectionism). Anyway, to be honest, personally, I  know what makes me happy; I mean really happy but I can’t do them because I have too many responsibilities and little resources. And as I thought that, I focused on the plural “many things”, and I thought “ok, I guess that there will be one small thing that I could start doing right now, and feel happier right now”. So I found some things like drawing, or going for walks close to the sea, which I really enjoy, but I tend to ignore as minor, time-wasting activities. And then I told to myself, “why do you regard  something that makes you happier, no matter how “small” or “big”, as a waste of time?” It is important and it should acquire as much time as every other activity in your life, because it makes you feel good, and you deserve to feel good.

So I am going to finish this post by saying that: Do what you love.Find the time.It’s for you. You deserve it.

Please tell me any thoughts coming in  your mind  after reading this.

Have a lovely day

Lina

Leave a comment